Dinajpur District দিনাজপুর জেলার সকল তথ্য

The location of Dinajpur district is in the Rangpur Division of northern Bangladesh. It’s one of the largest districts among all sixteen northern districts of Bangladesh. Once up on a time, Dinajpur was a part of the ancient state of Pundravardhana. Dinajpur was established in 1793 at the British administrative control. There is the location of Devkot which rotated as the capital of Lakhnauti that’s 11 miles south of Dinajpur town. In 8 October, it’s believed to be from the Gupta era, an ancient engraved stone was recovered from the bank of a pond near Sura Masjid in the Ghoraghat Upazila in Dinajpur.

Part of greater Dinajpur district was included in West Bengal and it was named West Dinajpur at the time of Partition of Bengal in 1947.

Geography of Dinajpur District

In the north of Dinajpur district is Thakurgaon and Panchagarh districts, in the south Gaibandha and Joypurhat, in the north Thakurgaon and Panchagarh, in the east Nilphamari and Rangpur districts, and a the west the state of West Bengal, India. District’s total area is 3,437.98 km2 where the main rives are the Dhepa, the Punarbhaba, and the Atrai.

Upazila List of Dinajpur District

  1. Biral Upazila
  2. Birampur Upazila
  3. Birganj Upazila
  4. Bochaganj Upazila
  5. Chirirbandar Upazila
  6. Dinajpur Sadar Upazila
  7. Ghoraghat Upazila
  8. Hakimpur Upazila
  9. Kaharole Upazila
  10. Khansama Upazila
  11. Nawabganj Upazila
  12. Parbatipur Upazila
  13. Fulbari Upazila

Pourashavas: 6

Number of Union Parishad: 101

Dinajpur District Economy

The main economy of Dinajpur district is depending on agriculture based production. It’s a peaceful place and the people in this district are much happier than those in other districts, everything grows easily. Rice is famous of this district and the best one is “KatariBhog”. Also, wheat is another economical source of the district. We can’t but say about the sweet and delicious lychees of Dinajpur. Moreover, it’s famous for the mangoes. There are also so many seasonal fruits and vegetables are grown in the district. Besides, a large number of people of Dinajpur depend on agro based products. Among the natural resources, it’s famous for coal mine; three are in Dinajpur of the five coal field discovered so far in Bangladesh.

Dinajpur District Archaeological Heritage

There are many Archaeological Heritages in Dinajpur district. Some of them are: Kantazir Mondir, Sura Mosque, Graveyard of Chehel Gazi, Royal Palace, Shingha Duar Palace, Dauri Temple, Baro Pukuria Cole Mine, Power Plant, Moddhapara Hard Rock Mine, Suja Mosque, .

Dinajpur District Population & Literacy

Dinajpur district’s total population is 29,90,128 where Male 15,08,670 and Female 14,81,458. The sex ratio is 102:100 and the population density 868/Sq Km along with annual growth rate is 1.22%. Besides, the rate of literacy of the district is 52.40% where Male 55.70% and Female 49.10%. The rate of school attendance is 56.70% for 5 to 24 years age group.

Dinajpur District 10th Parliament Member’s

Dinajpur-1: Manoranjan Shill Gopal, Bangladesh Awami League

Dinajpur-2: Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury, Bangladesh Awami League

Dinajpur-3: Iqbalur Rahim, Bangladesh Awami League

Dinajpur-4: Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, Bangladesh Awami League

Dinajpur-5: Mostafizur Rahman, Bangladesh Awami League

Dinajpur-6: Md. Shibli Sadique, Bangladesh Awami League

Dinajpur District Major Crops

Dinajpur district grows Paddy (Rice), wheat, sugarcane, Jute(The golden fiber of Bangladesh), potato, Onion, Green Chili (moris), Garlic and vegetables etc.

Dinajpur District Major Fruits

Dinajpur district’s major fruits are Litchi(Lichu), Mango(Aam), Jackfruit(Kathal), Banana, guava, papaya(Pepe), Lemon(Lebu), tetul, Coconut(Narkel) etc.

Dinajpur District Major Rivers

The main rivers of Dinajpur district Kanchan river, punarbhaba river, Atrai river etc.

Dinajpur District Bank

There are all commercial and government bank in Dinajpur district. Some of them are below:

  1. The Sonsani Bank
  2. Janata Bank
  3. Agrani Bank
  4. Rupali Bank
  5. Pubali Bank
  6. Uttara Bank
  7. Agricultural Bank
  8. Grameen Bank
  9. Islami Bank
  10. National Bank

Dinajpur District Newspapers

There are some newspapers in Dinajpur district, such as:


  • Uttara,
  • Pratidin,
  • Tista, Janamat,
  • Uttarbanga,
  • Ajker Protiva and
  • Patralap


  • Atahpar
  • Ajker Barta;


  • Nawroj

Dinajpur Postal Code

  • Dinajpur Sadar Postal Code: 5200
  • Bangla Hili: 5270
  • Biral: 5210
  • Birampur: 5266
  • Birganj: 5220
  • Chrirbandar: 5240
  • Khansama: 5230
  • Nababganj: 5280
  • Parbatipur: 5250
  • Phulbari: 5260
  • Setabganj: 5216

Tourist Place

There are many famous places to visit in Dinajpur district. These include Moynamoti, Kort-Bari, BARD, Lalmay Hill, Shalbon Amorous Diversion, Shopnopuri Dinajpur, Second World War cemetery, Meghna-Gomoti Bridge, Bakhrabad Gas Field, Dhormosagor, Jagannath Bari Temple and Lake, Lateshor Lake, Core of Buddhist Civilization, Pashchimgaon Nawab Bari, Victoria College, Dinajpur Zilla School, Kutila Mura, Charandra Mura, Rupban Mura, Itakhola Mura, Satera Ratna Mura, Ranir Banglar Pahar, Ananda Bazar Palaces, etc.

Famous person of Dinajpur

Some people have enlightened the Dinajpur district. These include Alhaz Mohammad Taimur (Educationist), Mohammad Nurul Amin (Poet), Pandit Mohes Chandra Tarkachuramoni, Advocate Jeher Uddin, Pir Shah Sufi Matlub Mia, Khan Bahadur Mahatab Uddin Ahmed, Mawlana Ayan Uddin Ahmed, Prof Abdul Baki, Sree Premhari Barman, Dr Hazi Mofiz Uddin Ahmed, Mohorshi Bhuban Mohon Kar, Nirmolendra Lahire, Hazi Mohammad Danesh (Social Worker), Layla Samad, Prof. Yousouf Ali, Habibur Rahaman, Asadullah, Konored Farhad, Sowkot Ali, Lie-U-Ten-Ent General Mahabubur Rahaman, Samsuddoha Manik (Footballer) etc.

Dinajpur District Miscellaneous

  • Language: Bangla
  • Government Primary Schools: 860
  • Registered Primary Schools: 835
  • Government High Schools: 10
  • Non Government High Schools: 406
  • Polytechnic Institure: 1
  • Dinajpur Medical College: 01
  • Upazila Health Complex: 13
  • Dinajpur Govt College: 3
  • Dinajpur university: 01
  • Private College: 86
  • Dinajpur Education Board: 01
  • Division: Rangpur
  • Chest Disease Hospital: 01
  • Diabetic Hospital: 02
  • Ideal Villages: 29
  • Time Zone: +6
  • Official Website: dinajpur.gov.bd
  • Mosque (Mosjid): 4038
  • Temple (Hindu): 904
  • Church: 96
  • Pagoda: 18
  • Stadium: 1
  • Public Library: 1

About Anwar

Hello, I'm Md Anwar Hossain from Dhaka, Bangladesh. Founder of contactnumberhub.com [Bangladeshi Number 1 Trip Advice Blog]. I like to write about All Kink of Bus, Train, Launch & Biman Related Information in this Blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.