Meherpur District: A to Z information

Meherpur district is a beautiful district of Khulna Division. The district is situated on the eastern part of bangladesh. The district’s communication system and other places attract tourists. Meherpur District is a historical district of Bangladesh where the official declaration of the provincial government of Bangladesh was made and the oath was taken solely in Vaidyanathtola village.

Meherpur District Focus Point:

Name Of  District Meherpur District
Established in 1960
Division Dhaka Division
Area 716.08 sq km
Language English & Regional
Population Total 591436; male 303166, female 288270
Population density 830 per sq km
Annual growth rate 2.15%
Sex ratio 100:1
Number of voters:
Literacy rate 38.5%
School attendance 43%
Religion Muslim 576962, Hindu 6779, Buddhist 7389, Christian 21 and others 285
Ethnic communities not available
Boundary by kushtia district and west bengal state of India on the north, chuadanga district and West Bengal state of India on the south, Chuadanga and Kushtia districts on the east, West Bengal state of India on the west.
Weather: 26.2 °C. [Annual average temperature]
Major rivers bhairab, ichamati, Mathabhaga, Kazla etc.
Major Crops Paddy, wheat, maize, jute, sugarcane, tobacco, betel leaf, onion, garlic, vegetables.
Major Fruits Mango, jackfruit, litchi, banana
Postal code 7100
Area Code: 791
Dialling Code: +880-791

List of upazilas:

Name of Upazila Total Area
Gangni 341.98
Mujibnagar 112.68
Meherpur Sadar 261.42

Tourist Places: 

Gosaidubi Mosque at Karamdi, Dargahs of Sheik Farid and Shah Enayet, Mazars of Barkat Bibi and Bagudewan, Ballavpur Mission, Teragharia Marrut, Shiva Mandir at Ballavpur, Alampur Mandir, Bhabanipur Mandir, Neelkuthis at Aamjhupi, Bhatpara and Saharbati.

Famous people:

Name of People Why Famous?
Literature Zia Haider Rahman
Parliament Member Shahiduddin (1986) Awami League.

Ramjan Ali (1988) Jatiya Party.

Abdul Mannan (1991) Awami League.

Ahmed Ali (1996) Bangladesh Nationalist Party.

Abdul Mannan (1999) Awami League.

Masud Arun (2001) Bangladesh Nationalist Party.

Joynal Abedin (2008) Awami League.

Farhad Hossain (2014) Awami League.

Freedom Fighter Kazi Zafar Ahmed
Politician Joynal Abedin
Journalist and Writer Kunal Chakrabarti
Poet Monica Ali
Footballer Sohel Rana
Actor Asif Azim
Actress Fariha Nusrat
Scientist Jahid Hasan
Researcher Rofiqul Islam
Historian Mafuzur Rahman


Daily Azam,




Raktashaskhar (irregular),

Agami (irregular);

weekly Mujibnagar (1988),

weekly Meherpur (1992).

Weekly Parichay (1985),

Chumbak (1986);

fortnightly: Pashimanchal

Monthly Sadhak (1913),

Palli Shree (1935),

Simanta (1962),

Probaha (1979);

About Anwar

Hello, I'm Md Anwar Hossain from Dhaka, Bangladesh. Founder of [Bangladeshi Number 1 Trip Advice Blog]. I like to write about All Kink of Bus, Train, Launch & Biman Related Information in this Blog.